I Saw the Light

1 12 2014

Ever hear the phrase, “I see the light” or “I saw the light”?

 Many times it is used in a religious context and refers to a conversion experience describing a moment in time when a person realized the darkness of their sin and stepped into the light of the gospel. When I was first saved during the Jesus Movement, I sang a song that I remember going, “Praise the Lord, I saw the Light”. This was sung as a testimony of the saving power of Jesus Christ, who is the light of the world

The metaphor of light/darkness is still used today both in religious and non-religious settings.  I don’t know when then phrase was first spoken, but I have found this out… among the Jews of Jerusalem, the dawn of the Day of Atonement was eagerly awaited. This was a day when the High Priest would enter a place in the Jewish Temple called the Holy of Holies to sprinkle the blood of bulls and goats on the a Mercy Seat. If excepted, Jews found forgiveness for the past year they could anticipate a year of God’s blessing on the next year. The day was symbolic of Calvary where Jesus was both the Lamb of God, and the High Priest of God, who would apply His own blood on the Heavenly Mercy seat. On the Day of Atonement, a watchman stood on the walls watching for sunrise ( the Jewish day began at sunrise). When he saw the first rays he would shout, “Light! Light! I have seen the light!”
So when a believer trusts the sacrifice of Calvary, he might have said,  “Light, light! I have seen the light”

The apostle John uses the metaphor of light quite often in his inspired writings. Wonderful words like:  “In Him (Jesus) was life, and the life was the light of men”  (John 1:4).  ” And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil” (John 3:19). “This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all” (1 John 1:5).  I saw the light when I trusted Christ as my Savior 40 years ago. My personal Day of Atonement forever sealed my eternal destiny. The world is getting darker and more menacing, but praise the Lord, I saw the light! I have found hope; I saw the light. Would you join me?

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

