Dear Sunday School Teacher

18 03 2014

Please don’t quit.

Pastor Dave

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

A chaplain who was ministering to a seriously wounded soldier was requested by the dying man to write a letter to his former Sunday school teacher. “Tell her I died a Christian because of what she taught me in that class in church. The memory of her earnest pleas and the warmth of her love as she asked us to accept Jesus has stayed with me. Tell her I’ll meet her in Heaven.” The message was sent, and some time later the chaplain received this reply: “May God forgive me. Just last month I resigned my position and abandoned my Sunday school pupils because I felt my work had been fruitless. How I regret my impatience and lack of faith! I shall ask my pastor to let me go back to teaching. I have learned that when one sows for God, the reaping is both sure and blessed.

Years ago at Bethlehem Baptist Church in Minneapolis they needed a Sunday school teacher for the junior boys. No teacher had been able to control them. This class wasn’t bad, just energetic.

They asked Ewald Chaldberg, a Swedish immigrant with a thick accent who worked as a masseur, to teach; he took the class. “He’ll never make it,” buzzed through the congregation. “Three weeks, and that’ll be the end.” But Ewald Chaldberg believed that God would overcome his human limitations. He stayed with the class through the years. He kept on teaching boys.

I was invited to that church to share in a service for the tenth anniversary of the death of Ewald Chaldberg. How do you like that—a church celebrating the tenth anniversary of the death of a layman!

At the celebration, they recounted that at least 40 men were in Christian service someplace in the world because Ewald Chaldberg taught boys, loved them and watched over them as they grew.

During the service, 27 lay persons stood up to say, “We’re going to be like Ewald Chaldberg in a small way.” Ewald found significance because he trusted the Lord who said, “My idea is bigger than your idea.”*

6,000 Plus Illustrations for Communicating Biblical Truths.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

