I Hate War

25 05 2013

I hate war, with a passion. I see no gain in killing other human beings. The ones that kill on both sides (like in Vietnam) are sons, husbands and dads, have aspirations for the future, can’t wait to get back to their families, and love their native land. In another context, they might be friends, but for the time being they are enemies. They went to war out of duty, or out of a mandatory obligation, and yes,they may have even gone to war out of hate for the enemy.

I hate war. I hate the way it destroys the families left that must cope with a casualty or serious injury. I hate the destruction of innocent lives caught in the cross fire of combatants. I hate the financial cost that could be used in more productive and useful ways. I see no glory in war.  Our heroes are often measured by how many of the enemy that they killed before being killed.

I hate war, yet I also know that the heart of men is evil. I believe the assessment of  Romans 3:15-18, “Their feet are swift to shed blood: Destruction and misery are in their ways:  And the way of peace have they not known:  There is no fear of God before their eyes.” The best we could do is to live by law, living  productive and peaceful lives with our fellow humans.” If it be possible, as much as lies in you, live peaceably with all men”, God’s Word says in Romans 12:18. Because ” evil men and seducers will grow worse and worse, deceiving and being deceived (2 Timothy 3:13), they must be stopped so that peaceful existence can continue.For rulers are not a terror to good works, but to the evil. Wilt thou then not be afraid of the power? do that which is good, and thou shalt have praise of the same.” (Romans 13:3).

I hate war, but must reluctantly concede that evil men must be stopped. For this cause I will give our troops all the moral support that I can,  oppose needless bloodshed and all massacre, and give honor to those who gave their lives to put to silence the advance of evil. I realize that each country defines evil through different lenses, therefore negotiation is always the best option.

Because the ravages of war cut deep, let us remember the cost of stopping evil. Remember the cost this Memorial Day.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

