The Boy Scouts Caved?

2 02 2013

I feel betrayed. Some of my fondest memories growing up in a single parent home was going to Boy Scout meetings and functions. The troop met at the Catholic Church that I attended. We had fun but there was also some serious character training and an oath that we said constantly and did our best to live…

Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

If you do not know the Scout Law, here it is,the same one that I memorized and proudly quoted almost 50 years ago…

Scout Law

A Scout is:
Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful,
Friendly, Courteous, Kind,
Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty,
Brave, Clean, Reverent

The National Leadership of the BSA decided that it is better to cater to a gay agenda rather than retain the time tested commitment to be “morally straight”. I’m sure that the “God and Country” phrase and the “reverent” word will be the next to go. I guess maybe it is going to be too awkward now to meet in churches that do not believe one could be “gay” and be “morally straight” at the same time. Maybe we need to allow girls in so that we could teach the most holy doctrines of tolerance and equality. Please do not mistake my anger for sarcasm. It seems like the innocence of my childhood has been trumped by sexual preference.

I know that each troop could decide their own definition of morality, but that won’t last. The political correctness police will make sure of that. Sensitivity training is coming to a troop near you!

“If the foundations be destroyed, what can the righteous do?” (Psalm 11:3).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

