Boy Scouts

18 10 2012

The Boy Scouts of America is once again making news and has one of the “Top Posts” in WordPress today. They are adopting the scout oath and scout law for the Cub Scouts as well as Boy Scouts. A move that would only find significance for those involved, right? Hardly. In my opinion they will once again be raked over the coals for teaching moral and religious values to boys, gasp! If you recall, they were cited by the political correctness police for banning their leaders from being gay; the BSA never budged an inch. Since then, they have been a target. They will be asked to sterilize their long-standing oath and law to fit into our more tolerant culture of diversified opinions.

I was once a Cub Scout and a Boy Scout. They both taught me and served me well. Although I never achieved the rank of Eagle Scout (a rank worthy of public honor and lifelong respect), their concern for a boy growing up in a single parent home was genuine. They taught me responsibility, character, and manhood. I took the same oath 50 years ago that they still take today in spite of the pressure to conform to a secular culture of moral laxity. The American Legion is still a proud sponsor of the BSA. They appreciate the moral values, social responsibility, and Americanism sewn into the fabric of their uncompromising mission. I am an officer at my Legion post and am proud of our affiliation with the BSA.

Go Scouts! Keep up your tested and true tradition of values!

Scout Oath
On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law
A Scout is:
Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful,
Friendly, Courteous, Kind,
Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty,
Brave, Clean, Reverent

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

