Fitness

29 08 2012

I have been in relatively good shape most of my life. It started as a teen in high school with a coach who helped me see the benefit of being fit past my teen years. During my hitch in the Navy I decided to be a runner. I had the right body frame to be a distance runner and even entered three or four dozen races (never to win a trophy, but just to give me a goal to achieve). When I was in my 30’s I decided to keep running because one day I would be at the age when many people have issues with sedentary lifestyle choices. Things like obesity, heart conditions, and even simple tasks like bending over or breathing with lungs clear of smoking issues. I decided to run until I was 50, then move on to something else. I was forced to quit running at 51, but transitioned over to swimming, bicycling, and spinning. Then it hit me, I am at that target age that I tried to prepare for all my life, the age that many of my peers have given up even trying to stay fit.

Oh, I realize cancer, heart disease, pulmonary disease, strokes, etc. sometimes happen because of circumstances we can not control. I have a brain disorder that was inherited. Poor lifestyle choices are often the culprit of a poor quality of life as we age. I may die tomorrow of a stroke or heart attack, everyone will die of something at sometime. Until that happens, I do not want to violate the maintenance of this temple of the Holy Spirit called the body. I want to live life to its greatest potential.

I encourage those who are young to develop a lifestyle of fitness and healthy choices. One day you will get to be 58, 63, 72, or whatever… and still enjoy a quality of life reflective of such choices. It takes discipline and hard work. Many view setting aside a time three to five times a week in order to exercise as a luxury that they could not afford. I say it is a necessity you can not live without.

1Co 6:19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

