Overwhelmed!

18 08 2012

If you have never been there…you will. I am talking about being overwhelmed, totally over your head with problems that you face or perhaps never even saw coming. It’s the kind of stuff that stretches your faith and gets you to reevaluate priorities. It keeps you up at night and forces you to ask that age-old question…why? Psalm 107:27 speaks of being at “wit’s end”. Yeah, its like that.

My daughter lost her baby in March, was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May, and just found out that her husband has cancer (in August). They may lose their house because of the treatments they will have to endure, they may lose their jobs, and they are only in their early 30’s. Wow! One of my friends wisely observed that we have a “Job Thing” going on. Platitudes like, “He’ll never give you problems beyond your ability to endure”, do not cut it. It hurts, it is numbing, it is overwhelming.

At times like this, I need to flee to the Sovereignty of God and realise that He loves me and has a reason for the pain. I need to come before Him even if words do not come. I need to seek His embrace, His comfort. Then I could go to my daughter and son-in-law and minister hope. I’m not there yet, still a bit overwhelmed.

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because He trusteth in Thee. Isaiah 26:3

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

