BIG

23 07 2012

God does not want us to do extraordinary things; he wants us to do the ordinary things extraordinarily well. Charles Gore (1853–1932)

Been thinking about “big”. Really, at 5’5″ in stature, I am no expert at  big. All my life I have been the last one chosen for basketball,  had to make sure I was in the front when a group picture was taken, or was forced to contort my neck trying to see the teacher  and the chalkboard.  You can say that  looking at big from the perspective of small, has been my lot in life.  I have discovered that,  with a few exceptions, it is the big people who are considered leaders, although it is an unspoken and even an unknown prejudice.  Churches are like that. 

I have been the pastor of two small churches for the past 28 years.  I would like to say that I am the “senior pastor”, but that would be a little misleading.   I am the chief cook and bottle washer. Like most  solo pastors in a small church, I would like to see steady growth, but it just hasn’t happened.  Let me give you a perspective from  one who is small.  Big churches are considered to be more successful than small churches.  Their myriad of activities attract active families.  They are respected as being on the cutting edge of ministry.  In the modern church, big is considered blessed and small is considered  struggling. I believe that some of the best preaching comes from the pulpits of small churches, but who would ever know?  They can not afford TV time nor do they have the wherewithal to publish books.  Big churches may be on the front lines, but small churches are in the foxholes.  Jesus attracted large crowds, but He was content to work with just 12.  I have nothing against the big churches, may God bless  them  as they minister. I  just don’t want them to  consider small as beneath them.

“For who hath despised the day of small things?”        Zechariah 4:10

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

