NATIONALISM

27 06 2012

Since the 4th of July ia coming and I am away at camp, I am going to run a couple oldies but goodie from my blogging file.

At the church that I pastor, we display the American flag on the right side of the speaker.  I make no apologies.  There is a growing trend to consider such a display as idolatry, its presence a distraction from our Kingdom message.  Others view it as a political statement that puts too much allegiance upon the earthly at the cost of the heavenly.  I’m sure others would see it as a violation of the separation of church and state.  I do not and will not worship the flag, but I will honor it as a symbol of my nation and a celebration of my freedom.  I love my country; I believe in nationalism.  Others should show honor to their own flag and display love for their own country.  Nationalism is not the invention of political expediency, it rises above politics.  Nationalism is God’s idea.

In my last post, I tracked the origin of nations to a post flood division at the Tower of Babel in Genesis 11:1-9.  A corresponding verse has the division, “every one after his tongue, after their families, in their Nations” (Genesis 10:5).

So, what is our justification for nationalism today?

1.      God divided people into nations (I elaborated on this in my earlier post).

2.      God commands us to be loyal to the national government in which we belong.

We did not choose the nation in which we would be born, our parents choose for us.  Ultimately, it was God.  He says that while we are in that nation we are to support its laws, obey its leaders (Romans 13:1-7), and honor its king (I Peter 2:17).  If we immigrate, we are to support the laws and leaders of that nation.  It is up to us to learn their language, their laws, and their culture

3.      God gives man a special love and loyalty to their nation.

They grow up in that nation.  They bury their loved ones in that nation.  They find a spouse and raise their children in that nation.  They farm its land, run it businesses, contribute to its culture.  They try to make the nation a better place for the succeeding generation.  Pretty soon, they love that nation and that love is God-ordained.  In Psalm 137:1-6 we find the Psalmist in Babylon in judgment for the sin of Israel.  Those captives still had a deep yearning for their homeland.  It’s called nationalism.

In Webster’s Dictionary, patriotism is defined as, “love and loyal or zealous support of one’s own country.”  In this context, patriotism is nationalism on steroids!  In order to kindle patriotism from our natural desire for nationalism there are celebrations of one’s nation that provide and avenue to express one’s love of country.  Every nation has their own.  For the United States, they are Veterans Day (November 11), Flag Day (June 14), Independence Day (July 4), and now Patriot Day (September 11).  We seek to honor those who served to defend our nation for those desiring to destroy it.  We gratefully acknowledge their service, sacrifice, and courage.  With every celebration, we are given even more cause to love our nation.

Actions

Information

One response

16 09 2009
Betty Simcox

I love your zeal of love for God & Country.
Would to God every American would
” stand up next to you” & keep the Torch lit .

Leave a Reply

