” New Rules of Marketing and PR”

28 06 2010

After reading this book by David Meerman Scott, I have a new respect for blogging. I am not a business person of a growing corporation, but a pastor of a local church. It’s message spoke to me of a greater potential for ministry through the medium of the internet. I am not a high-tech guru, but the book was easy to understand (for the most part). It explained terms and techniques that I either did not know or felt too stupid to ask. I have very little experience in the realm of keywords, search engines, wikis, going viral, RSS feeds, podcasting, social networking, and internet PR, so this book gave me a head start. I blog, so it was helpful learning of the ethics of blogging, understanding substance over appearance, and steps that should be taken if blogs are to be noticed. He gives an example of Mark Batterson, pastor of the “Theater Church” in Washington, DC. I have been to the church and find its digital inner-workings very intriguing and eye-opening. Some of the book was not applicable to my situation, but for the most part it was helpful.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

