THE BEAUTY OF OLD MEN

26 04 2010

He is a giant, but stands at only about 5’1″. I just said goodbye to my 91-year-old uncle, probably for the last time. He is flying back to a nursing home near his daughter in Colorado. It is a 22 hour trip one way by car and the odds of me making the trip any time soon are slim to none. He is a veteran of WWII; a true patriot, serving his country for 23 years in the Air Force. He was there for me when I struggled with life’s questions. The counselling sessions were conducted from a fishing boat out at the lake. He was there for his youngest brother (my dad) when he needed advice about his drinking problem. He is old school, disciplined, and fiercely independent. He is one who taught me the importance of faith and family. He is not eloquent with words, but his insight is to be desired. He is a mentor. Thank you Uncle Tom, I love you.

“The glory of young men is their strength: and the beauty of old men is the gray head.” (Proverbs 20:29)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

