“THE LAST SONG”

16 04 2010

Okay, I was surprised. Really, I didn’t know what to expect from this Nicholas Sparks novel. I had seen “The Notebook” on TV, and I read “Dear John” because of its connection with the military (I am a volunteer Chaplain). I thought both were outstanding. Still, I came to “The Last Song” and expected to maybe find a mushy romance. Instead, I found a book that was profound in its application to modern culture. Sure, it has the newness of first love, but it’s more about a teen’s relationship to a parent and the circumstances that cause them to see its value. It has a strong Christian presence with a pastor as one of the main characters. It was honestly refreshing; easy to get caught up in the reality of its plot. I would recommend it especially for teens. It may not change your life, but it will cause a person to think about what is truly important in the time that
God has given us on this earth.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

