Politics and the Church IV

29 01 2007

4.  Moral issues still need to be addressed
The church is still the “pillar and ground of truth” (I Timothy 3:15); it still needs to stand in the evil day (Ephesians 6:13).  Throughout the centuries, the church has always been the moral conscience of nations, in spite intimidation to keep silent.  Yet through it all, our biggest attraction has not been bitterness, anger, or disgust with the sinner, but love and compassion.  Truth spoken with love (Ephesians 4:15).  We are to love those whose own immoral lifestyle is killing them (II Timothy 2:25).  These people are not our enemies, they are our mission field!  Like the old saying goes; we are to “hate the sin but love the sinner”.
More and more our culture is confusing moral issues with political issues.  Perhaps this is an attempt to silence those with a moral conscience.  In the thinly veiled guise of tolerance, our voice is being hushed.  When the church loses its right to speak out against moral ills, the freedom of religion is sacrificed on the alter of tolerance.

5.  Patriotism is not to be defined as politics
Love of country is not politics, it is nationalism.  God Himself divided the nations and put us where we live.  The Olympics is the greatest display of nationalism in the world.  Nations come together as competitors, not as enemies.
I apologize to no one for my patriotism.  I am a flag-waving, liberty loving, and troop supporting American.  I see no conflict of interest in displaying such patriotism at church, or teaching it to children.  This patriotism is always tempered by the preeminence of Christ (Colossians 1:18).

CONCLUSION
I am entitled to my own political view, but I do not talk politics at church, even outside the pulpit.  I do not mention or demean any political party.  I have the freedom of speech, but have chosen to limit this freedom that I may by all means, save some (I Corinthians 9:22).  That’s why I will not put a political bumper sticker on my car or sign in my yard.  Sure, I have the right, but I would do it at the expense of half of my mission field.

This is a subject that goes where angels fear to tread.  I t will probable insight many objections from those both inside and outside the church.  Surely, it is not the last word on politics in the church, but I offer this much for your consideration.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

